Skip to main content

Norwood - Local Town Pages

Viola Sastavickas Scholarship

The family of Viola Sastavickas has made donations to the Morrill Memorial Library since 2007 to offer a yearly $500 scholarship. In 2020, the scholarship was permanently increased to $1,000. This scholarship is annually awarded to a current or former library employee or library volunteer for one of the following purposes: undergraduate or graduate school, a formal course of study, or an enrichment opportunity (continuing education). 
This scholarship has been awarded 16 times since 2007: 

Elizabeth Porter, 2007
Lauren Bailey, 2008
Carolyn Bradley, 2009
Jillian Goss, 2010
Samantha Sherburne, 2011
Odhran O’Carroll, 2012
Laura Hogan, 2013
Hallie Miller, 2014
Maureen Riordan, 2015
Chloe Belanger, 2016
Jyotika Tandan, 2017
Dina Delic, 2018
Elizabeth Ling, 2019
Tara Bilotta, 2020
Khushi Shah 2021
Gauri Loomba 2022
The scholarship will once again be awarded in 2023 thanks to continued generosity by the Sastavickas Family. Viola Sastavickas was a life-long resident of Norwood and used the library frequently. According to her daughter Kathy, the scholarship is “a fitting tribute to our beautiful mother and to the library and staff who treated her with great respect and affection.” 
Application forms are available on the library’s website at For more information or questions, contact Clayton Cheever at 781-769-0200, ext. 7. Applications are due by Tuesday May 9, 2023, and must be submitted electronically to the director: [email protected]. The scholarship will be awarded by June 31, 2023.