Skip to main content

Norwood - Local Town Pages

Viola Sastavickas Scholarship

Apply by June 28
The family of Viola Sastavickas has made donations to the Morrill Memorial Library since 2007 in order to create a scholarship in the amount of $1,000 each year. This scholarship is to be awarded annually to a current or former library employee or library volunteer for one of the following purposes: undergraduate or graduate school, a formal course of study, or an enrichment opportunity (continuing education).
This scholarship has been awarded 17 times since 2007: 
Elizabeth Porter, 2007
Lauren Bailey, 2008
Carolyn Bradley, 2009
Jillian Goss, 2010
Samantha Sherburne, 2011
Odhran O’Carroll, 2012
Laura Hogan, 2013
Hallie Miller, 2014
Maureen Riordan, 2015
Chloe Belanger, 2016 
Jyotika Tandan, 2017 
Dina Delic, 2018 
Elizabeth Ling, 2019  
Tara Bilotta, 2020 
Khushi Shah, 2021 
Gauri Loomba, 2022
Raceja Velavan, 2023 

The scholarship will once again be awarded in 2024 thanks to continued generosity by the Sastavickas Family. Viola Sastavickas was a life-long resident of Norwood and used the library frequently. According to her daughter Kathy, the scholarship is “a fitting tribute to our beautiful mother and to the library and staff who treated her with great respect and affection.”
A brief application form is available on the library’s website. Please contact Clayton Cheever at 781-769-0200 with any questions. Applications are due by Monday May 06, 2024, and they must be submitted electronically to Director Cheever: [email protected]. The scholarship will be awarded by June 31, 2024.