Skip to main content

Norwood - Local Town Pages

Heather Begg Receives Margery McKenna Memorial Scholarship

Pictured from left to right are Steering Committee League Member - Diane O’Toole, Sarah Begg – Heather’s mother, Heather Begg – Scholarship Recipient, and Steering Committee League Member -Toni Eosco

The Norwood League of Women Voters Margery McKenna Memorial Scholarship is awarded in recognition of a student who has shown interest or participation in the civic process and environmental studies. The Norwood LWV review committee selected Norwood High School graduate, Heather Begg, for the 2024 $1,000 scholarship. With several league members present to congratulate her, Heather was presented her award and certificate at the Morrill Memorial Library, in the Simoni Room on June 11. Heather, daughter of Matthew and Sarah Begg of Norwood, will be attending Georgetown University in Washington, D.C. in the fall with a major in business and global affairs.
As a valued league member, Marger McKenna earned a Lifetime Achievement Award from the Massachusetts League of Women Voters in recognition of over 50 years of service to the League. While she is still sorely missed by those who knew her, the Norwood League is honored to respect her past service and volunteerism through the selection of Heather Begg for the Margery McKenna Memorial Scholarship. Heather earned numerous awards, including the Harvard Book Award, with her outstanding academic record and numerous extracurricular activities. Her essay statement clearly expressed her belief in the responsible citizen when she stated, “We need strong young voices to run for government alongside those of the experienced politicians in order to make change happen. The only way that this can happen is for my generation to take an active role in the democratic process.” The Norwood League of Women Voters extends our best wishes to Heather. We know she will make a positive difference in the world.
Margery McKenna was a longtime, active member of the Norwood League. She served in numerous leadership capacities, including President. She was an advocate for public education and served as a member of Norwood’s School Committee for many years, and as a town meeting member for decades. Her interest in climate change and the environment was deeply rooted in her science major background in physics from Smith College.
The Norwood League of Women Voters extend its appreciation to the league members on the scholarship review committee:  Sarah Cullen, Diane O’Toole, and Courtney Rogers. Norwood League recognition is also extended to Steering Committee member, Sheri McLeish, for organizing the scholarship materials and process.
For information about the Norwood League of Women Voters, call or text Membership Chair, Toni Eosco, at 617-974-4936, or visit